221A membership welcomes new Board Members

July 16, 2022

On July 9, 2022, the Society’s membership gathered at 825 Pacific Street for the 15th Annual General Meeting. Members received reports on the activities of the 2021-22 fiscal year from Am Johal, President and Brian McBay, Executive Director, alongside a presentation of the Audited Financial Statements by Ross Gentleman, Treasurer. Furthermore, members re-appointed Harbourside CPA LLP as the Society’s Auditor for the 2022-23 fiscal year.

Members elected Krystal Paraboo and Kathy Feng for a term of three years (2022–25), joining recently appointed members Marisa Espinosa, Neeta Soni, Virginia Hong (2021–24), alongside previously elected members Julia Aoki, Jeff Derksen, and Katy Young (2020–23). At the close of the 2022 AGM, there remains a total of four (4) vacancies on the Society’s Board of Directors. This fall, the Board will continue a search for Board members to fill vacant terms. The Society thanks all members for their ongoing support and their participation in the AGM.

Read More

Welcoming Afuwa as 221A’s Inaugural Associate Director

February 10, 2022

221A is very pleased to announce the appointment of Afuwa to the role of Associate Director. The position as created to complement 221A’s founding leadership with a focus on strengthening the reciprocal health of the Society and the people and communities it seeks to serve.

Read More

221A Office Closed for Holiday Season

December 16, 2021

A wide shot of the x̱aw̓s shew̓áy̓ New Growth《新生林》garden at Semi-Public 半公開 seen from the street, with its gates open and a light covering of snow spread over its grounds.

The 221A office will be closed for the holiday season from December 17th to January 3rd. We wish all our community members, stakeholders and contributors a safe and restful holiday season. And, we look forward to sharing new projects, and social, cultural and ecological infrastructure with you in the new year. 

For news and updates, follow us on Twitter and Instagram