221A opens Pollyanna 圖書館 Library

August 21, 2017

221A is pleased to announce the re-inauguration of its former exhibition room at 221 E. Georgia Street as Pollyanna 圖書館 Library. Please join us in celebration on Friday, September 8th from 7pm–midnight as part of the SWARM festival of artist-run culture. The opening of Pollyanna Library coincides with the comprehensive restructuring of 221A’s artistic activities within a ‘fellowship & infrastructure’ program. This new model will initiate the payment of living-wage salaries to artists who will lead the organization’s research, production and events for three to twenty-four month periods. Under the fellow’s direction, the resources typically held by the art institution—human resources, financial assets, and communications platforms—will be used to realize flexible, semi-permanent artistic projects that 221A has defined as ‘infrastructures’.

Read More

Josh Gabert-Dayon and Yu Su announced as first Fellows

August 20, 2017

221A is happy to introduce Josh Gabert-Doyon and Yu Su as the society’s inaugural Fellows who are participants in “Notes on Permanent Education (N.O.P.E.)”. Taking its name from a revolutionary poster circulated during the May ‘68 student uprising in Paris, half a century later, the slogan is a question and a charge: What does the demand for permanent education mean today? And what is the role of artists and students in creating a new society? Convened by 221A’s Librarian, Vincent Tao, the fellows will be centered on these questions, unfolding into a series of study programs and live events.

Read More

221A members elect the Board of Directors 2017-18

August 18, 2017

221A is delighted to announce the election results of the 2017-18 Board of Directors at the July 25, 2017 Annual General Meeting (AGM). Members re-elected to the board included Laura KozakSadira RodriguesRoss GentlemanMiyo TakedaRussell BakerAlex GrünenfelderJenni Pace, and Naomi Sawada. The re-elected members were joined by cheyanne turions, who commenced her first term to the Board of Directors. Members also had the chance to thank Justin Langlois (outgoing President) and Tarah Hogue for their service whose terms had ended and who did not stand for re-election. Members terms will end at the close of the next AGM.

Read More